Wayne Westling Award

Wayne WestlingThe Wayne Westling Award for University Leadership and Service was created by the UO Senate at the 14 November 2001 and the 5 December 2001 meetings of the UO Senate.  The award is named in honor of Professor Wayne Westling, Professor of Law at the University of Oregon from 1979-2001, recognized across campus for his unswerving and selfless commitment to faculty governance at the University of Oregon. It is given to a faculty or staff member for their outstanding and long-term leadership and service to the university. The Committee on Committees is responsible for establishing the selection criteria, soliciting nominations, screening candidates, and recommending the recipient to the senate for its approval. The senate president serves as an ex officio member of the Committee on Committees for this yearly award activity.

The two criteria for the Wayne T. Westling Award are: 1) Exemplary service over a period of years to the university through participation in university committees, advisory bodies, or faculty elective positions, and 2) Inspired leadership and commitment to the principles of shared governance, participatory decision-making, and fostering a campus climate of inclusiveness and respect.

Nominations should be submitted either via letter or email to Betina Lynn (senatecoordinator@uoregon.edu or President's Office, 3 Johnson Hall) by April 17, 2015. Nominations should include a statement that details the nominee¹s leadership and service contributions to the university community. Additional letters of support for the nominee are welcome. The recipient is selected when the Senate votes on the recommendation of the Committee on Committees, and the award will be presented by the University Senate at its May meeting.

Award Winners

2014 Susan Gary (Law)

2013 Paul Engelking (Chemistry)

2012 W. Andrew Marcus (Geography)

2011 John Bonine (Law)

2010 John Nicols (History)

2009 Brad Shelton (Mathematics)

2008 James Reinmuth (Business)

2007 Suzanne Clark (English)

2006 Jeffrey Hurwit (Art History)

2005 James Earl (English)

2004 Dennis R Hyatt (Director, Law Library)

2003 Peter von Hippel (Chemistry)

2002 Peter B Gilkey (Mathematics)

Award Timeline

January - announcements to university community requesting nominations

February - deadline for receiving nominations

March - review nominations and make selection

April - award announcement