

University Senate Meeting Minutes June 7, 2023 3:00 – 5:00 P.M. EMU Crater Lake rooms (145 & 146)

Attendance can be found at the bottom of the page.

Call to Order: 3:04 P.M.

- Land Acknowledgment; Senate President Dan Tichenor
- Intro Remarks: Senate President Dan Tichenor
 - Farewell and a big Thank You to everyone.
 - Being part of Senate leadership is an opportunity to learn a great deal about this university and the many wonderful individuals who work here.
 - Thank you to the Senate Executive Committee for their tireless support and sage counsel on all manner of topics.
 - Thank you to senate leadership team...who provide tremendous support, continuity and consistency for the Senate and the important work it does.
 - Senate works best as a true, separate, partner in shared governance.
- ASUO Updates; Heather Barclay
 - Thanks so much for being so inclusive and collaborative with students this year. It has been a tremendous experience and one I value greatly.
 - New ASUO Pres Chloe Webster
 - I am currently a 2nd year student studying PPPM, from Tennessee. I feel so lucky and grateful to serve as ASUO Pres this upcoming year. Believe in building community... engage students to increase awareness about ASUO, and the resources that exist, including the UO Senate; advocate for Higher Ed funding, address the Basic Needs program. I would like to invite folks to reach out to me about any and all projects, issues, opportunities I want to be a "bridge" and my inbox is always open.

Approval of the Minutes:

May 24, 2023

Minutes stand as approved.

State of the University:

Interim President Jamie Moffitt

- So nice to see everyone here.
- Gratitude for the work of the Senate, everything you have done this year.



- Dan and Gerard met with Board this year. When you look at all the different accomplishments of the Senate (course approval, peer evals, non-UO credit program review, new program proposals) - it is incredible and we appreciate all your hard work.
- Thanks to senate leadership for walking me through current issues being faced, their willingness to sit down and problem solve, and ultimately help us move forward productively.
- Congratulations to award winners today: Daphne Gallagher, Kersey Bars, Kevin Hatfield. It is nice to focus on things and people who are doing amazing work. We spend so much time focusing on what is not working, it is nice to take time to focus on and recognize what is working and the amazing people and the work they are doing for our institution.

New Business:

• Vote - US22/23-21: Approval of Curriculum Report; Frances White

M/C – motion approved with a majority of those present.

Election of new Senate Vice President for AY 2023-2024

Candidate Alison Schmitke

- o Leadership and service more important than ever. Faculty governance is never done.
- Even though faculty are busy and sometimes overworked, they continue to come to the table to give their students their best.
- Desire to serve as Senate Vice President and President: to contribute, build consensus, make sure faculty oversee curriculum and not are overrun, and I want to see through the Course Approval legislation approved 2 weeks ago.

Elected with a majority of those present, with 2 abstentions (2 students)

- Awards:
 - O OA Award Daphne Gallagher, intro by Carol Paty
 - o Classified Staff Award-Kersey Bars, intro by Yvette Alex-Assensoh
 - o Wayne T. Westling Award Kevin Hatfield, intro by Michael Griffel

Open Discussion: None

Reports: None

Notice of Motion: None
Other Business: None
Adjournment: 3:53 P.M.

Attendance:

Present: Sandy Weintraub (Senate Secretary & Parliamentarian), Betina Lynn (Senate Executive Coordinator), Dan Tichenor (Senate President), Gerard Sandoval (Senate Vice President), Edward David, Chris Phillips, Dare Baldwin, Anthony Hornof, Hans Dreyer, Andy Karduna (subbing for Carrie McCurdy),

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

Craig Kauffman, Jiabin Wu (subbing for Bill Harbaugh), Matthew Norton, Ryan Light, Barbara Muraca, Harinder Khalsa, Stephen Rust, Fabienne Moore, Chris Michlig, Maxwell Foxman (subbing for Dayna Chatman), Robin Clement, Yoav Dubinsky, Brad Garner, Elly Vandegrift, Ann Shaffer, Melissa Bowers, Dianne Ranjuaquio (subbing for Anna Schmidt-MacKenzie), Heather Barclay, Natalie Hawkins, Jay Butler, Nick Sloss, Josh Razink, Frances White, Bob Choquette.

Excused: Stephen Rust, Dare Baldwin, Kris Kyle, Philip Speranza, Gina Biancarosa, Beth Harn.

Absent: Kelli Matthews, James Schombert, Peng Lu, Leslie McLees, Bjorn Smars, Peter Warnek, Bob Choquette, Benedict McWhirter, Ali Emami, Jack Boss, Barbara Mossberg, Kate Thornhill, Sara Mason, Adelle Iseri, Elise O'Brien, Jordan Pridemore.

Guests: Alison Schmitke, Daphne Gallagher, Carol Paty, Kevin Hatfield, Michael Griffel, Kersey Bars, Yvette Alex-Assensoh, Ron Bramhall, Angela Long, Edward Olivos.