Wayne T. Westling Award

Wayne Westling

The Wayne T. Westling Award for University Leadership and Service was created by the UO Senate at the 14 November 2001 and the 5 December 2001 meetings of the UO Senate.  The award is named in honor of Wayne T. Westling, Professor of Law at the University of Oregon from 1979-2001, who was recognized across campus for his unswerving and selfless commitment to faculty governance at the University of Oregon. It is given to a faculty or staff member for their outstanding and long-term leadership and service to the university.

Nomination Criteria:

The two criteria for the Wayne T. Westling Award are:

1) Exemplary service over a period of years to the university through participation in university committees, advisory bodies, or faculty elective positions, and

2) Inspired leadership and commitment to the principles of shared governance, participatory decision-making, and fostering a campus climate of inclusiveness and respect.

How to Nominate Someone:

Nominations should include a statement that details the nominee’s leadership and service contributions to the university community. Please include a resume or curriculum vitae for the nominee, if appropriate. Additional letters of support for the nominee are welcome.

2019-20: Please submit your nominations via email to Betina Lynn, Senate Executive Coordinator, senatecoordinator@uoregon.edu by Friday,  April 17, 2020.


The Senate’s Committee on Committees is responsible for establishing the selection criteria, soliciting nominations, screening candidates, and recommending the recipient to the Senate for its approval. The Senate president serves as an ex officio member of the Committee on Committees for this yearly award activity. The recipient is selected when the Senate votes on the recommendation of the Committee on Committees.


2019 – Karen Ford (College of Arts & Sciences and English)
– Leslie Opp-Beckman (American English Institute)

2018 – Frances J. White (Anthropology)

2017 – Jennifer J. Freyd (Psychology)

2016 – Robert Kyr (Music and Dance)

2015 – Carol Stabile (Women’s and Gender Studies)

2014 – Susan Gary (Law)

2013 – Paul Engelking (Chemistry)

2012 – W. Andrew Marcus (Geography)

2011 – John Bonine (Law)

2010 – John Nicols (History)

2009 – Brad Shelton (Mathematics)

2008 – James Reinmuth (Business)

2007 – Suzanne Clark (English)

2006 – Jeffrey Hurwit (Art History)

2005 – James Earl (English)

2004 – Dennis R Hyatt (Director, Law Library)

2003 – Peter von Hippel (Chemistry)

2002 – Peter B Gilkey (Mathematics)


April – announcements to university community requesting nominations

April – deadline for receiving nominations

April/May – review nominations and make selection

June – award announcement

Shared governance at the University of Oregon

Skip to toolbar