

University Senate Meeting Minutes
December 1, 2021
3:00 – 5:00 P.M.
Zoom

Attendance can be found at the bottom of the page.

Call to Order: 3:05 P.M.

Land Acknowledgment; Don Daniels, Linguistics

Introductory Remarks:

Intro Remarks; Spike Gildea

None

ASUO updates; Maxwell Ely

- ASUO senators are enjoying their time on various Senate/University committees and appreciate the opportunity to participate
- Senate President O'Connor working on program to support current and former foster students from the foster system
- New CANVAS site for neurodivergent students
- Program for drink-testing safety

Approval of the Minutes:

November 17, 2021

Stand as approved.

State of the University:

Janet Woodruff-Borden

- Multi-layered safety protocols against spread of COVID are working.
- We will follow-up with guidance for winter term when we have more information to share. We will continue to
 monitor and adapt as needed. We expect to continue with current safety protocols in place currently. We
 continue to have very high rates of vaccination across campus.
- We are doing 3 deccanal reviews of Deans Burke, Molleda and Nutter (put on hold last year) beginning in January 2022, with 5 key metrics:
 - o Institutional mission
 - o administration of College and Budget
 - o Strategic Planning
 - Collaboration
 - Equity & Inclusion
- Jesse Minton leaving in early March. We will appoint an interim Chief Information Office and launch a national search for a replacement.

New Business:

• <u>US21/22-05: Approval of Curriculum Report, Fall 2021</u>; Frances White, Chair of UOCC

M/C – Motion approved. 34 yeses, 1 abstention.



• <u>US21/22-03: Proprietary Research policy</u>; Emily Tanner-Smith

M/S/C – Motion approved. 35 yeses, 2 abstentions.

• <u>US21/22-04: The University Senate Defends Academic Freedom to Teach About Race and Gender Justice and</u> Critical Race Theory; Spike Gildea

M/S/C – Motion approved. 36 yeses, 2 no's, 1 abstention.

Open Discussion:

Accessible Education Center presentation; Hilary Gerdes, Jesse Nelson, Kimberly Johnson

Slide Presentation

Updates: US21/22-06: A New System for the Evaluation of Teaching; Bill Harbaugh (CAS - Economics) and Kristy Bryant-Berg (CAS – English)

- Original timeline outlined by US 17/18-19 was interrupted by MOU between the University and United Academics, then later by COVID disruptions. The committee is now working to get back on track.
- Many faculty are excited and appreciative of the changes brought about by initial iterations of the new Student Experience Survey system, including the ways it is improving TTF and Career Faculty relationships, as well as the faculty evaluation process.
- The new framework currently being developed is a part of the "continuous improvement" strategy employed by the committee. The Provost's Office has allocated resources to continue researching what and how bias continues to show up in the Student Experience Surveys, and how to decrease it. The Continuous Improvement and Evaluation of Teaching (CIET) committee is also working on how to increase the response rates.
- The motion will come back to the University Senate in January for further discussion and a vote.

Reports: None

Notice of Motion:

• Committee Clean-Up, Part 1

Other Business:

Adjournment: 5:03 P.M.

Attendance:

Present: Edward Davis, N. Chris Phillips, Dare Baldwin, Anthony Hornof, Hans Dreyer, Kelly Sutherland, Michelle Wood, Craig Kaufmann, Bill Harbaugh, Matthew Norton, Dan Tichenor, Ryan Light, Spike Gildea (Senate President), Zhuo Jing-Schmidt, Harinder Khalsa, Stephen Rust, Kristy Bryant-Berg, Don Daniels, Maram Epstein, Devin Van Den Wymelenberg, Gerard Sandoval, Nico Larco, Renee Irvin, Gina Biancarosa, Ben Clarke, Autumn Shafer, Mohsen Manesh, Robin Clement, Jack Boss, Brad Garner, Casey Shoop, Elly Vandegrift, Gabriele Hayden, Kate Thornhill, Kenlei Cowell, Ann Schmidt-MacKenzie, Becky Girvan, Maxwell Ely, Jenna Travers, Jay Butler, Josh Razink, Frances White, Betina Lynn (Senate Executive Coordinator), Sandy Weintraub (Parliamentarian), Sam Galli (subbing in for Theo Ko Thompson).

Absent: Allen Malony, Leslie McLees, Jessica Cronce, Stephanie Prentiss.

Guests: Katie Wolf, Jesse Nelson, Jesse Summers, Chuck Triplett, Gabe Paquette, Hilary Gerdes, Janet Woodruff-Borden, Emily Tanner-Smith, Ron Bramhall, Lee Rumbarger, Austin Hocker, Kimberly Johnson, Jagdeep Bala.