

March 21, 2017

Memorandum To: Bill Harbaugh, UO Senate President

From: Lynn Stearney, Director of Research Development Services, Office of

the Vice President for Research & Innovation

Re: Report for University Senate on the

2017 Faculty Research Award Committee

The members of the Faculty Research Award committee met with David Conover, Vice President for Research & Innovation on October 26, 2016, to review their charge and elect a chair.

Appointed committee members consisted of the following individuals:

James Brau, Physics
Edward Davis, Earth Sciences
Ben Hansen, Economics
Weiyong He, Mathematics
Ocean Howell, Clark Honors College
Chris Sinclair, Mathematics
Craig Parsons, Political Science
Gordon Sayre, English (Chair)
Hailin Wang, Physics

## **Ex-Officio Facilitator**

Lynn Stearney, Director of Research Development Services, Office of the Vice President for Research & Innovation

Ocean Howell, initially appointed to the committee, asked to be released from committee work and was asked to formally notify the Senate President.

Chris Sinclair was unable to fulfill his committee obligations and did not evaluate applications or attend the meeting.

Forty three proposals for the 2017 Faculty Research Award were received and reviewed for adherence to the program guidelines. These proposals, a copy of the guidelines, and an evaluation instrument selected by the committee chair were distributed to the committee via OneDrive in December, 2016, prior to the end of the fall quarter.

The committee met on February 23, 2017 to discuss and evaluate the proposals. The committee's recommendations were then provided to David Conover, Vice President for Research & Innovation for final determination of awards. The Vice President approved twenty awards (in alphabetical order):

## OFFICE OF THE VICE PRESIDENT FOR RESEARCH & INNOVATION

1266 University of Oregon, Eugene OR 97403-1266

T (541) 346-2090 F (541) 346-2023 http://research.uoregon.edu

Bengtson, Carla, Associate Professor, Department of Art, "Mutuum(s)"

**Budd, Elizabeth**, Assistant Professor, Department of Counseling Psychology & Human Services, "New Moves for Inactive Girls in Lane County"

**Chavez, Christopher**, Assistant Professor, School of Journalism & Communication, "Branding the revolution: Havana Club, Cuban authenticity and public diplomacy"

**Chronister, Krista**, Associate Professor, Department of Counseling Psychology & Human Services, "ACCESS in prisons: Vocational preparation for female offenders"

**Cycyk, Lauren Marie**, Assistant Professor, Department of Special Education, "Perspectives of Hispanic Caregivers on Early Language Intervention Strategies"

**Escallón, Maria Fernanda**, Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology, "Excluded: Cultural Heritage, Afro-Descendants, and the Politics of Diversity in Colombia and Brazil"

**Fonstad, Mark**, Associate Professor, Department of Geography, "An Entire River Test of Next-Generation "Riverscape" Mapping Methods"

**HoSang, Daniel**, Associate Professor, Departments of Ethnic Studies & Political Science, "Social Inequality and Anti-Statism in the Rural West"

**Kelly, Nichole**, Assistant Professor, Department of Counseling Psychology & Human Services, "Investigation of the Efficacy of an Acute Physical Exercise Intervention to Improve Energy Intake among School-Age Children in Rural Communities"

**Moore, Fabienne**, Associate Professor, Department of Romance Languages, "Gustave Doré's "Histoire de la Sainte Russie" (1854): The Invention of Graphic Rhetoric or the Artist At War"

**Morar, Nicolae**, Assistant Professor, Departments of Philosophy and Environmental Studies, "A Critical Edition of Gilles Deleuze's Seminar on Michel Foucault"

**Nobile, Drew**, Assistnat Professor, School of Music & Dance, "Form as Harmony in Classic Rock Music"

**Russel, Kory**, Assistant Professor, Departments of Landscape Architecture and Environmental Studies, "A Comparison of Methane Emissions from Sanitation Services in Dense Urban Slums"

**Seaman, Kristen**, Assistant Professor, Department of History of Art & Architecture, "Social Identifies in the Library of Pantainos Sculptural Workshop in the Athenian Agora"

**Shanley, Lina**, Research Associate, Center on Teaching and Learning, "Making Middle School Mathematicians: Measuring, Monitoring, and Intervening to Improve Math Self-Concept"

**Su, Xiaobo**, Associate Professor, Department of Geography, "In the Shadow of the Cold War: Illicit Drugs and the Entanglement of US, China, and Myanmar since 1949"

**Tice, James**, Professor, Department of Architecture, "The Micro-Urbanism of Rome: The Architecture of the In-between"

**Vacchi, Steve**, Professor, School of Music & Dance, "First Complete Recording: Alec Wilder' Octets for Winds and Rhythm Section"

Wacks, David, Professor, Department of Romance Languages, "Spanish Crusader Fiction"

**Walker, Peter**, Professor, Department of Geography, "Sagebrush Collaboration: How Harney County, Oregon, Chose Cooperation over Conflict"

Individuals were notified of their status as of March 15, 2017, with copies of award letters sent to Deans and Department Heads. Announcements of award recipients will be made on the OPVRI website and in the Oregon Research newsletter. The list of recipients will also be sent to "Around the O."

As the Committee on Committees appoints next year's members, we respectfully request that they designate only one faculty member per academic department (this year we had more than one representative from two departments, Mathematics and Physics) and give consideration to representation from Colleges and Schools across the campus. Having multiple methodological and disciplinary perspectives benefits the review process immeasurably. This year our review committee was composed entirely of men. We also request that the Committee on Committees appoint a diverse committee which is balanced in terms of gender.

cc: David Conover, Vice President, Research & Innovation