Report to the University Senate 2016-2017

Promotion, Tenure and Retention Appeal Committee (PTRAC) Cynthia M. Vakareliyska, chair

The members of PTRAC in 2016-17 are Mary Jaeger (Classics), Steve Vacchi (Music) and Cynthia Vakareliyska (Linguistics). One case came before PTRAC this academic year, in Fall Term 2016. A hearing was conducted and the PTRAC members then submitted to the Provost our opinion and recommended decision.

The PTRAC members have a request for the next Provost for future cases. Although no requirement is stated in the rules governing PTRAC procedure, in the past number of years in instances when the Provost's final decision on a case overrode PTRAC's recommendation, the informal custom was for the Provost to meet with the PTRAC chair to explain the reasons for the decision, before issuing it to the grievant. This year the Provost instead cc'd the PTRAC a copy of his decision as it was sent to the grievant. While we appreciate the Provost's effort to inform the committee chair this way of the details of the decision—particularly since the Provost was under no obligation to do so—we would like to request that the past informal practice be continued of meeting in person with the committee chair in instances where the Provost did not accept PTRAC's recommendation, so that the PTRAC members are not quite as blindsided by the decision as we were this academic year.

Respectfully submitted,

Cynthia M. Vakareliyska Professor of Linguistics, Director of Graduate Studies Department of Linguistics