

June 3, 2019

Memorandum To: Elizabeth Skowron, UO Senate President

From: Nathalie Hester and Melissa Baese-Berk, Co-chairs, Faculty Research

Awards Selection Committee

Re: Report for University Senate on the 2019 Faculty Research Award

Committee

The members of the Faculty Research Award committee met with David Conover, Vice President for Research & Innovation on December 7, 2018, to review their charge and elect a chair. Appointed committee members consisted of the following individuals:

Melissa Baese-Berk, Associate Professor, Department of Linguistics Nathalie Hester, Associate. Professor, Department of Romance Languages Vera Keller, Associate Professor, Department of History

Seth Lewis, Associate Professor, School of Journalism and Communication

Erin McKenna, Professor, Department of Philosophy Ronald Mitchell, Professor, Department of Political Science

Seungahn Nah, Professor, School of Journalism and Communication

Joshua Raznik, Director of TEM, CAMCOR

Lani Teves, Assistant Professor, Department of Ethnic Studies

Forty-nine proposals for the 2019 Faculty Research Award were received and reviewed for adherence to the program guidelines. Of this amount, one was deemed ineligible. The 48 eligible proposals, a copy of the guidelines, and an evaluation instrument developed by the committee chairs, in collaboration with Research Development Services, were distributed to the committee via OneDrive on December 28, 2019.

The committee met on March 1, 2019 to discuss and evaluate the proposals. Professors Teves and Keller were not able to attend this meeting in person. The committee's funding rankings were then provided to David Conover, Vice President for Research and Innovation for final determination of awards. He approved the twenty-five awards based on the rankings provided by the committee. Given the extremely high quality and quantity of submissions, he chose to fund 25 projects—five more than OVPRI has historically funded through this program. One recipient, Brook Muller, notified the committee she is leaving the institution. Therefore, 24 awards, representing a total OVPRI investment of \$131,029, were distributed. The following are the 2019 award recipients (in alphabetical order):

- Autumn Shafer, and Jesse Abdenour, both Assistant Professors in the School of Journalism and Communication, "Nonfiction Narratives."
- Jaques Abelman, Assistant Professor, School of Architecture and Environment, "Radical Abundance."
- Stephanie DeAnda, Assistant Professor, College of Education, "Spoken Language Comprehension: The Influence of Socioeconomic Status and Poverty in School Age."

- Kevin Dicus, Assistant Professor, Department of Classical Studies, "Comparing Statistical Measures of Diversity Among Ancient Roman Waste Assemblages."
- Ramakrishnan Durairajan, Assistant Professor, Department of Computer and Information Science, "Mapping the Internet via Crowdsourcing."
- Trygve Faste, Associate Professor, Department of Product Design, "Space Mouse Sketch Book."
- Sangita Gopal, Associate Professor, Department of Cinema Studies, "Mixed Media: A History of Women's Filmmaking in India."
- Deborah Green, Associate Professor, Department of Religious Studies, "A Rose among the Brambles; Fruit of the Wild Vine: Gardens in Ancient Jewish Interpretation."
- Gordon Hall, Professor, Department of Psychology, "A Patient-Centered Approach to Determine the Cultural Relevance of an Intervention."
- Jocelyn Hollander, Professor, Department of Sociology, "The Impact of Empowerment Self-Defense Training in a Diverse Community Population."
- Santiago Jaramillo, Assistant Professor, Department of Biology, "Behavioral Assays for Studying Predictive Coding in the Mouse Brain."
- Lamia Karim, Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology, "Raising Cain: Female Factory Workers and Socialization of Sons in the Garment Industry in Bangladesh."
- Yekang Ko, Assistant Professor, Department of Landscape Architecture, "Co-designing a Multifunctional Landscape Model for Vulnerable Communities."
- Dave Markowitz, Assistant Professor, School of Journalism and Communication, "'I Didn't Do It': Communication Patterns of Innocence from Wrongfully-Convicted Criminals."
- Craig Parsons, Professor, Department of Political Science, "Europe's Extraordinary Single Market Project in Transatlantic Perspective."
- Wes Pope, Assistant Professor in Multimedia Journalism, School of Journalism and Communication, "Time Machine: Virtual Reality Meets Pinhole Photography on Route 66"
- Judith Raiskin, Associate Professor, Department of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies, "The Eugene Lesbian Oral History Project."
- Margaret Sereno, Associate Professor, Department of Psychology, "Training Artificial Neural Networks to Navigate Complex Environments Using Maps."
- Stephen Shoemaker, Professor, Department of Religious Studies, "The Qur'anic Canon: Scripture and Authority in Early Islam."
- Julie Sykes, Associate Professor, Department of Linguistics, "Measuring Intercultural Competence with Digital Simulations: Validating a Scaled Assessment Model."
- Lydia Van Dreel, Professor of Horn, School of Music and Dance, "The Lawrence Graduate Bayreuth-Tuben Quintet (LGBTQ)."
- Claire Wachter, Professor of Piano Pedagogy, School of Music and Dance, "The Sensuous Scarlatti."
- Lesley Jo Weaver, Assistant Professor, Department of International Studies, "Women's Mental Health in South India: A Collaborative Ethnographic Pilot Study."
- Maureen Zalewski, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, "Developing a Psychotherapeutic Treatment for Families with a Parent with Mental Illness."

Individuals were notified of their status as of April 2, 2019, with copies of award letters sent to Deans and Department Heads. Announcements of award recipients were made on the OPVRI website and in the campus community news source *Around the O*.

cc: David Conover, Vice President, Research & Innovation Research Development Services