April 19, 2023

| Memorandum To: | Dan Tichenor, UO Senate President |
|----------------|---|
| | Gerard Sandoval, UO Senate Vice President |
| | Betina Lynn, UO Senate Coordinator |
| From: | Craig Parsons, Chair, Faculty Research Awards Selection Committee |
| Copied: | Anshuman "AR" Razdan, Vice President for Research & Innovation |
| | Resarch Development Services |
| Re: | Report for University Senate on the 2023 Faculty Research Award |
| | Committee |

The members of the Faculty Research Award (FRA) Committee met with Anshuman Razdan, Vice President for Research and Innovation (VPRI), on October 25, 2022, to review their charge and elect Craig Parsons as chair. Appointed committee members consisted of the following individuals:

Christopher Chavez, Associate Professor, School of Journalism and Communication Jina Kim, Assoc. Prof., College of Arts and Sciences, Dept. of East Asian Languages and Literatures Dave Markowitz, Assistant Professor, School of Journalism and Communication Craig Parsons, Professor, College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Political Science Lynn Stephen, Professor, College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Anthropology Marc Schlossberg, Professor, College of Design, School of Planning, Public Policy and Management Daniela Vallega-Neu, Professor, College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Philosphy Juan Eduardo Wolf, Associate Professor, School of Music and Dance

Faculty submitted forty-five proposals to the FRA program by the deadline of January 22, 2023. Research Development Services staff then reviewed for adherence to the program guidelines. On February 3, 2023, members of the committee received (via Smartsheet) copies of eligible proposals, a copy of the FRA guidelines, and an evaluation instrument. Each proposal was reviewed by two members of the eight-person committee; each member of the committee ranked a total of 11-12 proposals.

The entire committee met remotely on February 27, 2023 to discuss and evaluate the proposals. Based on those discussions, the committee created a ranked list of all proposals, which were later provided to VPRI Razdan for the final determination of awards. He approved 15 awards based on the rankings provided by the committee, representing a total OVPRI investment of \$140,948.12.

The following are the 2023 award recipients (in alphabetical order):

- Erin Beck, associate professor, Department of Pollical Science, "Ni Una Menos: Violence against Women and Access to Justice in Guatemala"
- Lauren Cycyck, associate professor, Department of Special Education and Clinical Sciences, "Maternal Input to Spanish-Exposed Toddlers With and Without Early Language Delay"

- Stephen Dueppen, associate professor, Department of Anthropology, "Political Economies in Bambuk from the Ghana Empire to the Black Death Pandemic: Chronometric Analyses of Diouboye, Senegal"
- Jean Kjellstrand, assistant professor, Department of Counseling Psychology and Human Services, "Parental Incarceration: Disseminating Information about Current Research and Potential Solutions to Support Incarcerated Parents and their Children"
- Torsten Kjellstrand, Career Non-Tenure Track Faculty, School of Journalism and Communication, "Black Soil: A Documentary Look at Three Black Farm Families in the Bootheel of Missouri"
- Colin Koopman, professor, Department of Philosophy, "Data Equals"
- Ernesto Javier Martínez, associate professor, Department Indigenous, Race and Ethnic Studies, "La Serenata (Feature Film)"
- Katelyn McDonough, assistant professor, Department of Anthropology, "Archaeological Investigations of Indigenous Lifeways and Ecology during the Ice Age in Oregon"
- Isabel Millán, assistant professor, Department of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies, "Girls Will Be Boys Will Be Girls': Queer Feminist Politics in Jacinta Bunnell's Coloring Books"
- Lanie Millar, associate professor, Department of Romance Studies, "Mário Pinto de Andrade: From Lusophone Negritude to African Nationalism"
- Laura Pulido, professor, Department Indigenous, Race and Ethnic Studies, "Monumental Denial: U.S. Cultural Memory and White Innocence"
- James Schombert, professor, Department of Physics, "The Dark Matter-Baryon Connection"
- Daniel Gómez Steinhart, associate professor, Department of Cinema Studies, "Cross-Border Hollywood: Production Politics and Practices in Mexico"
- David Sutherland, associate professor, Department of Earth Sciences, "What lies beneath? Probing the subsurface environment of proglacial lakes"
- Julie Weise, associate professor, Department of History, "Guest Worker: A History of Ideas, 1919-75"

Individuals were notified of their status as of March 30, 2023, with copies of award letters sent to Deans and Department Heads. Announcements of award recipients were made on the OPVRI website and in the campus community news source <u>Around the O</u>.