

University Senate Meeting Minutes June 1, 2022 3:00 – 5:00 P.M. EMU Crater Lake rooms (145 & 146)

Attendance can be found at the bottom of the page.

## Call to Order: 3:04 P.M.

- Land Acknowledgment; Matthew Norton
- Intro Remarks: Spike Gildea
  - Finalized course approval process task force to be chaired by Alison Schmitke,
    College of Education. Other members: Elliot Berkman (Psychology, Ballmer
    Institute), Christian Cherry (School of Music and Dance), Robert Davis (Romance
    Languages), Nathan Jacobs (Knight Campus), Kristy Bryant-Berg (English), Ron
    Bramhall (Ex Officio, Office of the Provost), Carolyn Vogt (UO Online, Office of
    the Provost), Rebeca Silva Rivera (College of Arts and Sciences), Rachael Godlove
    (School of Journalism & Communication Portland)
  - DEI work Senate Academy Library Research Guide now live on <u>UO Senate</u> website.
- ASUO updates; Heather Barclay
  - Massive hiring effort for exec team
  - New leadership undertaking lots of changes
  - More than 120 applications for positions in the ASUO
  - ASUO final mtg tonight as well election of vice president to occur

# **Approval of the Minutes:**

May 18, 2022

Approval of minutes postponed until first meeting of AY 2022-2023.

## **UO President's Remarks:**

President Michael Schill

 Wish to express immense appreciation to the Senate its work throughout the year. Best wishes for a restful and rejuvenating summer. Thanks/welcome to Gerard for agreeing to run for a senate leadership role.

### **New Business:**

Vote - <u>US21/22-24</u>: <u>Approval of Curriculum Report, Spring 2022</u>; Frances White (Chair of UOCC)



**M/C** – Approved unanimously.

Vote - <u>US21/22-21: Course Attendance & Engagement policy</u>; Mike Price (Math),
 Jagdeep Bala (Psychology)

M/S/C – motion approved with 25 yeses, 1 no, 0 abstentions.

 Vote- US21/22-22: <u>Revised Incomplete policy</u>; Mike Price (Math), Jagdeep Bala (Psychology)

M/S/C – motion approved with 25 yeses, 0 no's, 1 abstention.

Vote - <u>US21/22-23</u>: <u>Creation of Service Dashboard, Department policies, and Requirement for Minimum Institutional Service</u>; Spike Gildea (Senate President, CAS - Linguistics)

M/S/C – motion approved with 25 yeses, 0 no's, 1 abstention.

- Election of Senate Vice President and President-Elect for AY 2022-2023
  - Candidate(s):
    - Gerard Sandoval, College of Design

Approved unanimously.

- Awards:
  - Classified Staff Leadership Award: Lydia Harlan, UO Libraries
  - Leadership and Service Award for Officers of Administration; Amy Boutell Krusenstjerna, School of Journalism & Communication
  - o Wayne T. Westling Award: Lynn Stephen, Anthropology

**Open Discussion:** None

Reports: None

**Notice of Motion:** 

# **Other Business:**

Passing of the Gavel to new Senate President

**Adjournment:** 4:59 P.M.

#### Attendance:

**Present:** Victor Ostrik (subbing in for N. Chris Phillips), Anthony Hornof, Hans Dreyer, Kelly Sutherland, Allen Malony, Michelle Wood, Dan Tichenor (Senate Vice President), Spike Gildea (Senate President), Harinder Khalsa, Stephen Rust, Don Daniels, Maram Epstein, Gina Biancarosa, Autumn Shafer, Jack Boss, Elly Vandegrift, Becky Girvan, Heather Barclay, Josh Razink, Frances White, Sandy Weintraub (Parliamentarian), Betina Lynn (Senate Executive



Coordinator), Mike Schill, Gerard Sandoval, Edward Davis, Yoav Dubinsky, Jay Butler, Stephanie Prentiss, Matthew Norton.

#### Excused:

**Absent**: Dare Baldwin, Craig Kauffman, Leslie McLees, Bill Harbaugh, Maathew Norton, Ryan Light, Zhuo Jing-Schmidt, Kristy Bryant-Berg, Dyana Mason, Nico Larco, Renee Irvin, Ben Clarke, Jessica Cronce, Mohsen Manesh, Robin Clement, Brad Garner, Casey Shoop, Gabriele Hayden, Kate Thornhill, Kenlei Cowell, Anna Schmidt-MacKenzie, Kavi Shrestha, Jenna Travers, Raul Patel, Dante' James.

**Guests:** Ron Bramhall, Lydia Harlan, Damon Campbell, Amy Boutell Krusenstjerna, Lynn Stephen, Erin Beck, Julianne Newton