

University Senate Meeting Minutes May 18, 2022 3:00 – 5:00 P.M. Via Zoom

Attendance can be found at the bottom of the page.

Call to Order: 3:04 P.M.

- Land Acknowledgment; Betina Lynn
- Intro Remarks: Spike Gildea
 - May 25, 2022 Reception with President Schill @ McMorran House today is last day to RSVP for this event.
 - June 1, 2022 Senate Mtg will be in person, to be followed by an awards reception in the same location in the EMU Crater Lake rooms (145 & 156).
 - Announcement: new task force to review/revise course approval process to streamline
 and make more efficient (currently a hodge podge of records created/revised over
 several decades, including handwritten docs held by the Registrar's Office). The following
 members have agreed to serve: Alison Schmitke (College of Education), Elliot Berkman
 (Pychology, Ballmer Institute), Kristy Bryant-Bert (English), Christian Cherry (School of
 Music and Dance), Robert Davis (Romance Languages), Nathan Jacobs (Knight Campus).
 We are still negotiating with a few more members and would like to invite any interested
 parties to reach out to Spike via email.
- Dan Tichenor: AY 2022-2023 Senate/Exec mtgs there is a tentative plan to keep most Senate mtgs remote, with the exception of the Orientation and Awards reception mtgs (beginning and end of academic year). We are open to further feedback from senators.
- ASUO Updates; Heather Barclay
 - Tonight 6 P.M. inauguration for next year's ASUO officers and the last mtg for this academic year.

Approval of the Minutes:

April 27, 2022

Minutes stand as approved.

State of the University:

President Michael Schill

- Slide presentation
- Strategic Plan/Framework 2021-2026
 - Focus of President and Provost for next five years



UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

- Consistent with prior Strategic Framework
- Interdisciplinary Priorities across divisions, schools/colleges
- Informed by potential student and workforce demand
- Potential for Impact
- Consulted with wide variety of stakeholders
 - Hundreds of faculty and staff in working group
 - Senior leadership, Senate leadership, deans, FAC
- Not exhaustive Schools/colleges, divisions and units should develop own priorities

New Business:

Intro - <u>US21/22-21: Course Attendance & Engagement policy</u>; Mike Price (Undergrad Council),
 Jagdeep Bala (Undergrad Council)

Overview of motion presented. Will be brought back to the June 1, 2022 Senate Mtg for a vote.

 Intro - <u>US21/22-22: Revised Incomplete policy</u>; Mike Price (Undergrad Council), Jagdeep Bala (Undergrad Council)

Overview of motion presented. Will be brought back to the June 1, 2022 Senate Mtg for a vote.

Intro - <u>US21/22-23</u>: <u>Creation of Service Dashboard, Department policies, and Requirement for Minimum Institutional Service</u>; Spike Gildea (Senate President)

Overview of motion presented. Will be brought back to the June 1, 2022 Senate Mtg for a vote.

Reports: None

Notice of Motion:

Other Business:

Executive Session - Awards

Adjournment: 5:03 P.M.

Attendance:

Present: Anna Schmidt-MacKenzie, Autumn Shafer, Ben Clarke, Betina Lynn (Senate Executive Coordinator), Bill Harbaugh, Brad Garner, Craig Kauffman, Dan Tichenor (Senate Vice President), Dante' James, Dare Baldwin, Don Daniels, Dyana Mason, Edward Davis, Eleanor Vandegrift, Frances White, Gabriele Hayden, Gerard Sandoval, Gina Biancarosa, Hans Dreyer, Harinder Khalsa, Heather Barclay, Jack Boss, Jay Butler, Jessica Cronce, Kate Thornhill, Kavi Shrestha, Kelly Sutherland, Kenlei Cowell, Kristy Bryant-Berg, Leslie McLees, Matthew Norton, Mike Schill (UO President), Mohsen Manesh, Patrick Phillips (UO Provost), Raul Patel, Renee Irvin, Robin Clement, Ryan Light, Sam Schwartz, Sandy Weintraub (Parliamentarian), Spike Gildea (Senate President), Stephanie Prentiss, Stephen Rust, Theodora Ko Thompson, Yoav Dubinsky.

Excused: Anthony Hornof, Michelle Wood, Becky Girvan, Josh Razink.

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

Absent: N. Chris Phillips, Allen Malony, Zhuo Jing-Schmidt, Maram Epstein, Nico Larco, Casey Shoop, Jenna Travers.

Guests: Chuck Triplett, Gabe Paquette, Greg Stripp, Jagdeep Bala, Jennifer Winters, Jesse Summers, Jimmy Howard, Kassy Fisher, Keith Frazee, Kevin Marbury, Krista Chronister, Liska Chan, Maggie Bosworth, Mike Price, Rachael Godlove, Richie Hunter, Ron Bramhall, Tim Inman.