

University Senate Meeting Minutes March 13, 2024 3:00 – 5:00 P.M. Via Zoom

Attendance can be found at the bottom of the page.

### Call to Order: 3:02 P.M.

- Land Acknowledgment; Shalini Agrawal (Visiting Faculty Fellow in Design for Spatial Justice & Visiting Professor of Architecture)
- Intro Remarks: Senate President Gerard Sandoval
  - Consider nominating a colleague for a Senate Award. Nominations are due April 19, 2024.
  - Elections for UO Senate and committees will open early spring. Please vote and encourage your colleagues to do so as well.
  - Faculty are currently negotiating a new contract. We have the S.A.D. task force
    working to refine academic continuity planning as it relates to the concerns brought
    up during Fall term 2023 and future collective bargaining periods.
  - President Scholz investiture will occur on May 30, 2024, with Senate President Sandoval serving as the Grand Marshall for the ceremony.
- ASUO Updates; Ravi Cullop
  - "Verbatim" won the Battle of the Bands and will be performing at the upcoming ASUO spring concert.
  - 3,000 signatures for student food pantry proposal have been collected.
  - Working on elections reform, including rank-choice voting and other changes to ASUO processes.

## **Approval of the Minutes:**

• February 28, 2024

Minutes stand as approved.

## **UO Pres Remarks:**

University President Karl Scholz

- Strategic Planning process:
  - Have had 25 stakeholder meetings. Participants represent full range of folks on and off campus.

# UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

- Hope to still be talking about same initiatives 5 years from now and the progress we've made. Don't like to talk about the "flavor of the day," prefer more consistency over the long haul.
- Four emerging priorities:
  - Remove barriers to graduation, such as: student mental health challenges, financial exigencies, student advising, improve our how we are delivering our curriculum.
  - Career preparation, including how a liberal arts education provides lasting value.
  - Enhance belonging to create a "flourishing" campus community.
  - Further build our reputation for excellence, leveraging scholarship around core ideas such as: innovation and accelerating impact, elevating the human experience, etc.
- Survey to go out in May to create a framework in the spring term and a more refined strategic plan in early fall.

### **New Business:**

Vote: <u>US23/24-09</u>: <u>Approval of Curriculum Report, Winter 2024</u>; Frances White (Chair of UOCC)

M/C – motion approved with 34 yeses, 0 no's, 0 abstentions.

 Vote: <u>US23/24-08: Student Registration Holds policy</u>; Jesse Nelson (Asst Vice Provost Advising & Access)

M/S/C – motion approved with 29 yeses, 0 no's, 1 abstention.

Vote: <u>US23/24-07</u>: <u>Academic Freedom and Freedom of Speech policy</u>; Katy Krieger

M/S/C – motion approved with 33 yeses, 0 no's, 0 abstentions.

- Updates: Affirmative Action; Kevin Reed (General Counsel), Jeslyn Everitt (General Counsel's Office), Caron Campbell (General Counsel's Office)
- Faculty Salaries and Meeting the External Market: United Academics' Proposal; Keaton Miller (Associate Professor, Economics)
  - o <u>Presentation</u>
- Brainstorm session: future UO Senate priorities?

Agenda item postponed until a future Senate mtg.

**Open Discussion:** None

Reports: None

**Notice of Motion: None** 

**Other Business: None** 

Adjournment: 5:03 P.M.

#### **Attendance:**

Present: Betina Lynn (Senate Executive Coordinator), Sandy Weintraub (Senate Secretary), Gerard Sandoval (Senate President), Alison Schmitke (Senate Vice President), Andiel Brown, Kathy Stroud, Yoav Dubinsky, Anthony Hornof, Pedro Garcia-Caro, Jana Prikryl, Erica Bornstein, Eleanor Vandegrift, David Cosottile, Bob Choquette, Dayna Chatman, Frances White, Jay Butler, Jiabin Wu, Ravi Cullop, Jimmy Howard, Stephen Rust, Robin Clement, Kate Mills, Jane Cramer, Beth Harn, Taliek Lopez-Duboff, Nick Sloss, Dyana Mason, Micah Warren, Bjorn Smars, Raoul Lievanos, Emily Beck, Peng Lu, Carrie McCurdy, Melissa Bowers, Maria Soto, Ann Shaffer, Sara Mason, Mohamed Mounir, Harinder Khalsa, Melynda Casement, Barbara Muraca, Ali Emami, Daniel Vo.

Excused: Chris Michlig.

**Absent**: Kikachi Akpakwu, Fisher Isenberg, Matthew Norton, Wonkak Kim, Philip Speranza, Barbara Mossberg, Peter Warnek, Lillian Duran, James Schombert.

**Guests:** Shalini Agrawal, Kevin Reed, Allison Blade, Karen Ford, Karl Scholz (University President), Carson Campbell, Ron Bramhall, Kassy Fisher, Jeslyn Everitt, Jennifer Winters, Bill Harbaugh, Glen Waddell, Keaton Miller, Maggie Bosworth, Jesse Nelson, Deborah Green, Katy Krieger.