From: William Harbaugh <<u>harbaugh@uoregon.edu</u>>
Date: Tuesday, May 7, 2024 at 5:47 PM
To: Gerard Sandoval <<u>gsando@uoregon.edu</u>>, Alison Schmitke <<u>schmitke@uoregon.edu</u>>
Subject: Fwd: Request for support from Past Senate Presidents on a Senate motion

Dear Senators -

We are writing as past Presidents of the UO Senate, regarding the motion by President-Elect Schmitke that is posted at <u>https://senate.uoregon.edu/senate-motions/us2324-11-</u> <u>modification-uo-senate-bylaws-section-62-academic-council-membership</u>. The gist of this motion is to give the Senate President and Vice President, and another Senator appointed by the President, voting power in the Academic Council.

We strongly support this motion, which we believe will strengthen shared governance and increase the impact of the Senate by assuring that it has a role in the increasingly important decisions with which the Academic Council has been dealing.

Signed,

Dan Tichenor, Senate President 2022-23 Spike Gildea, Senate President 2021-22 Elliot Berkman, Senate President 2020-21 Elizabeth Skowron, Senate President 2019-20 Bill Harbaugh, Senate President 2018-19 & 2016-17 Chris Sinclair, Senate President 2017-18 Randy Sullivan, Senate President 2015-16 Rob Kyr, Senate President 2012-15