



University Senate Meeting Minutes April 10, 2024 3:00 – 5:00 P.M. Via Zoom

Attendance can be found at the bottom of the page.

Call to Order: 3:05 P.M.

- Land Acknowledgment; Sophia Lopez Hodgdon
- Intro Remarks: Senate President Gerard Sandoval
 - Nominate folks for the Senate awards nomination period closes Friday, April 19, 2024.
 - Senate/Committee elections now open please encourage your colleagues to vote.
 We are excited to have 32 OA candidates for 2 open seats, similar for the 2 classified staff seats.
 - President Scholz investiture on May 30, 2024. More information will be provided by email should you be interested in attending.
 - United Academics bargaining is underway and faculty are invited to attend these sessions. More information can be found on their website.
- ASUO Updates; Taliek Lopez-Duboff
 - Wrapping up run-off election to finish this ASUO election season. Beginning the transition between ASUO officers.
 - \circ Street Fair is scheduled for week 6 of Spring term.
 - The Spring ASUO concert has been cancelled following some miscommunications with another student group on campus.

Approval of the Minutes:

• March 13, 2024

Minutes stand as approved.

UO Pres Remarks:

University President Karl Scholz

- Announcement: Professor Jen Reynolds will serve as interim dean of the Law School while we conduct a national search for a replacement for Dean Marcilyn Burke, who is embarking on a new journey to lead the law school at Tulane University many congratulations to her and a thank you for her leadership in her time here at the UO.
- New University Provost will be announced shortly. Please stay tuned.



• The UO Faculty Club will reopen on Thursday, April 18 from 4:00 – 6:00 P.M. in the Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art, Ford Lecture Hall.

New Business:

• Updates: Big 10 Alliance; Dr. Keith Marshall (Executive Director)

Slide Presentation

• Presentation: Improving equity and access in the UO Libraries; Brian Lym (Library Director of Employee Engagement, Development, and Belonging), Danielle Mericle (Curator of Visual Materials)

Collaborative effort to address such topics as building collections that include: Open Educational Resources, Curriculum-driving acquisitions (eBooks), Library Diversity Fund for one-off DEI acquisitions, the Native American Archival Materials working group and collection management, methods for book and materials cost savings for students, inclusive spaces (such as restrooms), and resources for students with young children.

• Updates: Core Ed Council; Ron Bramhall, Steve Frost

Proposal to add administrative FTE to help oversee, strategize and implement core education curriculum at UO – <u>DRAFT</u>.

• Update: Interinstitutional Faculty Senate (IFS); Pedro Garcia-Caro

Topics of recent meeting included: pass/no pass model, response to letter from HECC regarding transfer credits, idea to change Oregon colleges and universities to a semester system – leading to a request to President Scholz to brief the Senate further on this topic.

• Intro: Committee clean-up: <u>US23/24-10: Discontinuation of Promotion-Tenure-Retention</u> Appeals Committee and Faculty Grievance Appeals Committee; Sandy Weintraub

Agenda item postponed until a future Senate meeting.

• Brainstorm session: Senate Priorities AY 2024-2025; Senate Vice President Alison Schmitke

Agenda item postponed until a future Senate meeting.

Open Discussion: None

Reports: None Notice of Motion: None Other Business: None Adjournment: 5:03 P.M.

Attendance:

Present: Gerard Sandoval (Senate President), Sandy Weintraub (Senate Secretary), Betina Lynn (Senate Executive Coordinator), Alison Schmitke (Senate VP), Kathy Stroud, Kate Mills, Taliek Lopez-Duboff, Jana Prikryl, Anthony Hornof, Erica Bornstein, Micah Warren, Dyana Mason, Pedro Garcia-Caro, David Cosottile, Frances White, Yoav Dubinsky, Raoul Lievanos, Bob



UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

Choquette, Peng Lu, Carrie McCurdy, Stephen Rust, Jay Butler, Dayna Chatman, Lillian Duran, Robin Clement, Beth Harn, Carrie Cook, Barbara Muraca, Emily Beck, Melynda Casement, Bjorn Smars, Eleanor Vandegrift, Jiabin Wu, Maria Soto, Jagdeep Bala.

Excused:

Absent:

Guests: Dr. Keith Marshall, Brian Lym, Danielle, Mericle, Sophia Hodgdon, Allison Blade, Ron Bramhall, Evey Lennon, Karen Ford, Karl Scholz, Jennifer Winters, Tim Inman, Kassy Fisher, Jenna Adams-Kalloch, Sandee Bybee, Austin Hocker, Ryan Loughrey, Celeste Gonzalez de Bustamante, Steve Frost, Charlotte Moats-Gallagher.