

University Senate Meeting Minutes May 22, 2024 3:00 – 5:00 P.M. Via Zoom

Attendance can be found at the bottom of the page.

Call to Order: 3:05 P.M.

- Land Acknowledgment; Dyana Mason
- Intro Remarks: Senate President Gerard Sandoval
 - Senate leadership is leading the negotiations with the protest encampment in the interests of reaching a peaceful conclusion.
 - We are proposing a task force to continue discussions regarding several of their concerns and priorities related to ethical investing principles (ESG) by the UO Foundation and the business practices of UO Purchasing and Contracting. The task force will be chaired by Dyana Mason in PPPM, who has extensive experience researching and working with non-profits and comes to the group with effective, deliberative mediating skills and will excel in making sure all sides are heard as we move forward.
 - More information about this task force will be shared as it becomes available.
- ASUO Updates; Taliek Lopez-Duboff
 - Concluded the ASUO Student Flea Market last week which is an opportunity for students to each other students buying items from other students
 - ASUO is transitioning with new members and officers as of next week as part of its annual turnover process.
 - ASUO finance team is looking into the possibility of investing part of its upcoming budget into an accessibility shuttle or something else along those lines.

Approval of the Minutes:

May 1, 2024

Minutes stand as approved.

UO Pres Remarks:

UO President Karl Scholz

 We are now on day 24 of the encampment by various student groups motivated and moved by the ongoing violence in Palestine. While we support everyone's right to free speech, we must remind folks that our policies and conduct codes regarding these activities and prohibitions against overnight encampments are designed to keep everyone in our community safe.



 We appreciate the stated desire of the encampment participants to avoid the violence, threats, and destruction of property we have seen on other college campuses while engaging in peaceful dialogue. We are, however, experiencing behaviors that are increasingly challenging to the needs of our university community, leading us to consider what steps we may need to take to preserve the continuation of our academic mission and supporting our 24,000 students pursuing their education.

Interim Provost Karen Ford

- Reminder: there are several events being held in the next few days to help our community learn more about the issues being raised by the encampment, including antisemitism and islamophobia. Please avail yourself of the opportunity to attend one or more of these events.
- The Office of the Provost is in the process of establishing instructional policy liaisons in each school and college who will act as informed point people for 3 policy areas that are increasingly complex and critical: the Student Conduct Code and the Office of Student Conduct and Community Standards, the Accessible Education Center which approves student accommodations relating to disability and other policy approved accommodations related to religion, pregnancy, military service, and other civil rights laws, and the UO Senate Course Attendance and Engagement policy. This program will roll out in Fall 2024.

New Business:

Vote: <u>US23/24-10</u>: <u>Discontinuation of Promotion-Tenure-Retention-Appeals Committee and Faculty Grievance Appeals Committee</u>; Alison Schmitke (Senate VP, College of Education) and Sandy Weintraub (Senate Secretary)

M/S/C – motion approved with 31 yeses, 0 no's, 0 abstentions.

• Vote: <u>US23/24-11</u>: <u>Modification to UO Senate Bylaws (section6.2) - Academic Council membership</u>; Alison Schmitke (Senate VP, College of Education)

M/S/C – motion approved with 33 yeses, 0 no's, 0 abstentions.

 Vote: <u>US23/24-13</u>: <u>Recommendation for Core Education focused FTE</u>; Stephen Frost (Chair of Core Education Council)

M/S/C – motion approved with 29 yeses, 0 no's, 2 abstentions.

Vote: <u>US23/24-12</u>: <u>Supporting the Creation of a Hispanic Serving Institution (HSI) Steering Committee</u>; Audrey Lucero (College of Education), Laura Pulido (Indigenous, Race, and Ethnic Studies), Lynn Stephen (Anthropology), Dan Tichenor (Political Science)

M/S/C – motion approved with 36 yeses, 0 no's, 0 abstentions.

• Presentation: Cultural Services Program Scholarship; Ryan Loughrey (Global Engagement Program Coordinator)

Slide presentation

Open Discussion: None



Reports: None

Notice of Motion: None

Other Business:

Executive Session - Awards

Mtg closed to non-senators

Adjournment: 4:30 P.M.

Attendance:

Present: Betina Lynn (Senate Executive Coordinator), Sandy Weintraub (Senate Secretary/Parliamentarian), Gerard Sandoval (Senate President), Alison Schmitke (Senate VP), Erica Bornstein, Dyana Mason, Kathy Stroud, Jay Butler, Jana Prikryl, Raoul Lievanos, Taliek Lopez-Duboff, Frances White, Beth Harn, Yoav Dubinsky, Melissa Bowers, Bob Choquette, Peng Lu, Emily Beck, David Cosottile, Ravi Cullop, Anthony Hornof, Kate Mills, Micah Warren, Barbara Muraca, Stephen Rust, Dayna Chatman, Nick Sloss, Pedro Garcia-Caro, Alex Aghdaei, Robin Clement, Carrie McCurdy, Maria Soto Cuesta, Sara Mason, Melynda Casement, Trevor Adams, Jimmy Howard, Jane Cramer, Bjorn Smars, Jiabin Wu.

Excused:

Absent:

Guests: UO-FFMJG94P0DXV, Lynn Stephen, Serge, Ryan Loughrey, Susi Thelen, Charlotte Moats-Gallagher, Jennifer Skilowitz, Michael Mattes (R* San Diego), Angela Seydel (UO Communications), Laura Pulido, Tarek Anthony, Eric Howald, Reilly Norgren, Evan Reynolds, Shane Lesher, Lane DuBois, DeAnna Heying, Mariam Nadeem, Spencer Smith, Cengiz Zopluoglu, Karl Scholz (UO President), Amanda Kennedy, Nathan Wilk (KLCC), Jennifer Winters, Barbara Hewick, Karen Ford, Kassy Fisher, Jodi Kunimoto, Warren's iPhone, Caitlin Caldwell, Tim Inman, Joe Helmy, Audrey Lucero, Krista Dillon, Naing Naing Oo (Warren), Kim Eitner, Steve Frost, Melissa Palma, Sue Dockstader, Michelle McKinley, Megan Weiler, Abhijit Pandit, GTFF, Alexander Hays-Ekeland, Paul Swangard, Larissa Ennis, Jenna Adams-Kalloch, Ron Bramhall, Thomas Laman, iPhone, 2 unidentified phone numbers, Matt Roberts, Scott Pratt, Alexander, Melissa Gustafson, V Machado, David Frank, Mohammed Shakibnia.