

University Senate Meeting Minutes November 20, 2024 3:00 – 5:00 P.M. Via Zoom

Attendance can be found at the bottom of the page.

Call to Order: 3:04 P.M.

- Intro Remarks: Senate President Alison Schmitke
 - Invitation and reminder to celebrate and reaffirm our shared values in this interesting time:
 - what have you noticed lately that brings you joy?
 - What helps you feel a sense of belonging at the UO?
- ASUO Updates; Taliek Lopez-Duboff
 - Conducted an excellent and successful "Night Safety Walk"
 - o Recently attended student Big 10 conference in Ohio
 - Getting ready to lobby congress Mar 1 4, 2025 with student counterparts from other Big 10 institutions
 - Passed a resolution calling on UO to create a new Human Rights Center
 - Because of ASUO work on voter registration Taliek will be speaking at the White House next week

Approval of the Minutes:

• October 30, 2024

Minutes stand as approved.

UO Pres Remarks:

University Provost Chris Long

- Grateful to everyone working to maintain an inclusive environment on campus for the wide range of political opinions and the lively discussions we can have as a result.
- Oregon Rising (as it relates to the goal of Flourishing):
 - o The UO Career Center is moving from Student Life to Provost's Office.
 - UO Health Center and Counseling Services is moving from Student Services and Enrollment Management (SSEM) to the Division of Student Life.
- Update: HSI/Latinx thriving institution:
 - Need to enroll at least 25% Latinx student, we currently at about 15%
 - Chris Chavez, SOJC, has agreed to serve as chair of the HSI Advisory Implementation Work Group



New Business:

 Vote: <u>US24/25-02: New Program Proposal - Historic Preservation</u>; Rich Margerum (College of Design)

M/S/C – motion approved with 23 yeses, 1 no's, 0 abstentions.

 Vote: <u>US24/25-03: New Program Proposal - School Psychology</u>; Angie Whalen (College of Education - School Psychology), Billie Jo Rodriguez (College or Education - Special Education & Clinical Services)

M/S/C – motion approved with 26 yeses, 0 no's, 0 abstentions.

 Vote: <u>US24/25-04: Amend UO Senate Bylaws for Submission of Curriculum Reports</u>; Alison Schmitke (Senate President, College of Education), Dyana Mason (Senate Vice President, College of Design)

M/S/C – motion approved with 20 yeses, 0 no's, 0 abstentions.

<u>Discussion: US24/25-07: New Program Proposal - Materials Science and Technology;</u> Jayson Paulose (Physics)

Brief introduction and discussion of motion. Proposal will be brought to a future senate meeting for a vote.

Discussion: <u>US24/25-05: Revision to Charge and Membership of Scholastic Review Committee</u>;
 Dyana Mason (Senate Vice President, Chair of Committee on Oversight and Shared Governance)

Brief introduction and discussion of motion. Proposal will be brought to a future senate meeting for a vote.

Discussion: <u>US24/25-06</u>: <u>Revision of Charge of Committee on Oversight and Shared Governance</u>;
 Dyana Mason (Senate Vice President, Chair of Committee on Oversight and Shared Governance)

Brief introduction and discussion of motion. Proposal will be brought to a future senate meeting for a vote.

Open Discussion: None

Reports:

• Ballmer Institute; Kate McLaughlin

Slide Presentation

- Task Force on Ethical Investing, Purchasing, and Contracting; Senate Vice President Dyana Mason
- Big 10 Academic Alliance; Sandy Weintraub

Notice of Motion: None
Other Business: None
Adjournment: 4:58 P.M.

Attendance:

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

Present: Sandy (Senate Secretary), Betina Lynn (Senate Executive Coordinator), Alison Schmitke (Senate President), Dyana Mason (Senate Vice President), Barbara Mossberg, Rachel DiNitto, Pedro Garcia-Caro, Katherine DonaldsonWon Kim, Bob Choquette, Andrew Ducharme, Anthony Hornof, Jay Butler, Taliek Lopez-Duboff, Beth Harn, Erica Bornstein, Chantelle Russell, Jamie Dillon, Kersey Bars, Bella Esbeck, Daniel Miller, John Arndt, Micah Warren, Chiara Gasparini, Kate Mills, Mohamed Mounir, Melynda Casement, Daniel Dugger, Matthias Vogel, Edward Davis, Raoul Lievanos, Yasamin Vahdati, Kathy Stroud, Eric Corwin, Erin McKenna, Jana Prikryl, Andiel Brown, Andy Winden, Alejandro Vallega, Jiabin Wu, Michael Tomcal, Norma Kehdi, Jerry Rosiek.

Excused: David Cosottile, Jimmy Howard, Harinder Khalsa.

Absent:

Guests: Charlotte Moats-Gallagher, Grant Schoonover, Jayson Paulose, Caitlin, Chris Long, Allison, Tim Christie, Rich Margerum, Allison Blade, Uli Dangel, Kikachi Akpakwu, Chris Bell, Larissa Rudnicki, Kassy Fisher, Angie Whalen, Mel Chambon, Kody Kelleher, Kate McLaughlin, A. Aneesh.