

University Senate Meeting Minutes May 21, 2025 3:00 – 5:00 P.M. Via Zoom

Attendance can be found at the bottom of the page.

Call to Order: 3:04 P.M.

- Intro Remarks: Senate President Alison Schmitke
 - Report: Task Force on Ethical Investing; Dyana Mason (Senate VP, College of Design),
 Andy Winden (Law School, Senator)
 - Announcement: candidates for UO Senate VP AY 2025-2026
 - Edward Davis. Earth Sciences
 - Candidates for Faculty Trustee + speeches
 - Gerard Sandoval confirmed with 36 yeses, 0 no's, 0 abstentions.
- ASUO Updates; Taliek Lopez-Duboff
 - ASUO leadership and senator transition will occur on May 25, 2025. Transition meetings are currently being held to onboard the new membership.
 - We have been meeting with incidental fee-funded units to conduct end-of-year assessments.

0

Approval of the Minutes:

April 30, 2025

Minutes stand as approved.

UO Pres Remarks:

University Provost Chris Long

- Remarks regarding the email sent out yesterday on the budget forecast and the
 austerity measure that will lie ahead for the UO. Many discussions will be had in the
 coming weeks to discern what types of budget reductions will be made and which units
 will be impacted.
- A town hall on the budget issues will be held on June 9, 2025 please keep your eyes open for an email with more details. The space in the room will be limited, so we are encouraging folks to join via Zoom.
- During these difficult times, I am heartened to witness and share in small moments celebrating our amazing colleagues and look forward to the UO Senate's upcoming



awards ceremony and reception at their final meeting for this academic year on June 4, 2025.

- Many congratulations to the 4,000 Ducks who will be graduating later this month. I hope many of you will be there to celebrate with us.
- Grand Opening of the UO Portland campus will take place on May 29, 2025.
- New gift of \$25 million to the newly renamed Schnitzer School of Global Studies and Languages.

New Business:

 Discussion/Vote: <u>US24/25-24</u>: <u>Updated Student Religious Accommodations Procedures</u>; Alison Schmitke (Senate President, College of Education), Dyana Mason (Senate VP, College of Design)

M/S/C – motion approved with 34 yeses, 0 no's, 2 abstentions.

Discussion/Vote: <u>US24/25-22</u>: <u>Establishment of a GP (Grade Pending) Grade for Pending Student Conduct Cases</u>; Alison Schmitke (Senate President, College of Education), Dyana Mason (Senate VP, College of Design)

M/S/C motion failed with 13 yeses, 13 no's, 9 abstentions. Issue will be revisited in committee.

Discussion/Vote: <u>US24/25-23</u>: <u>Changes to the Criteria for the awarding of Latin Honors</u>; Leslie
 McLees (Co-Chair of Undergraduate Council), Jagdeep Bala (Co-Chair of Undergraduate Council)

M/S/C – motion approved with 29 yeses, 1 no, 1 abstention.

Open Discussion: None

Reports:

- Updates: Interinstitutional Faculty Senate (IFS); Pedro Garcia-Caro (Romance Languages, Senator)
 - Two motions approved by IFS: one supporting international students and faculty, the other to support the Mutual Defense Compact resolution circulating among the Big Ten institutions.
 - Working group within IFS tracking legislative activities around higher education in Oregon would like to invite them to share their findings with the various Oregon university senates in the upcoming year as we navigate challenging times in academia.
- Updates: Hispanic Serving Institution (HSI) steering committee; Chris Chavez (SOJC)

Postponed until next senate meeting.

Notice of Motion:

Quality of drinking water and lead exposure via the water fountains on campus; Raoul Lievanos

Other Business: None

Adjournment: 4:59 P.M.

Attendance:

Present: Sandy (Senate Secretary), Betina Lynn (Senate Executive Coordinator), Alison Schmitke (Senate President), Dyana Mason (Senate Vice President), Taliek Lopez-Duboff, Matthias Vogel, Chantelle Russell, Won Kim, Edward Davis, Alejandro Vallega, Anthony Hornof, Jay Butler, Rachel DiNitto, Kathy Stroud, Pedro Garcia-Caro, Jana Prikryl, David Cosottile, Kate Mills, Melynda Casement, Beth Harn, Chiara Gasparini, Andy Winden, Harinder Khalsa, Jamie Dillon, Eric Corwin, Erin Beck, Jiabin Wu, Yoav Dubinsky, Erin McKenna, Jimmy Howard, Mohamed Mounir, Jane Cramer, Kersey Bars, Raoul Lievanos, Micah Warren, Andrew Ducharme, Eren Cil, Daniel Miller, John Arndt, Liz Sgro, Barbara Mossberg, Bob Choquette, Katherine Donaldson, Daniel Dugger, Erica Bornstein.

Excused:

Absent: Mark Hammond.

Guests: Saul, Kaleigh Bronson-Cook, Kassy Fisher, Jagdeep Bala, Annie Aguiar, Cindy Bandow, Kody Kelleher, Leslie McLees, Nicole Commissiong, Jeslyn Everitt, Julia Pomerenk, Sasha Love, Cheyney Ryan, Allison Blade, Sunny Childers, Charlotte Moats-Gallagher, Alison Helzer, Cy Abbott, Maya Feldman-Dragich, T, Jason S., Gerard Sandoval, Michael Dreiling, Ben Schorzman, Dianne, Chris Long (University Provost), Sarah Strickler, Chris Chavez, Jasmine Samara.