

## University Senate Meeting Minutes March 10, 2021 3:00 – 5:00 P.M.

Zoom

Attendance can be found at the bottom of the page.

Call to Order: 3:03 P.M.

Land Acknowledgment; Ella Meloy

## **Introductory Remarks:**

Elliot Berkman, Senate President

• Reminder: today is the last day to sign up for Trauma Informed Leadership workshop, which begins later this month.

ASUO updates; Ella Meloy

• Extend a Thank You to everyone who helped ASUO get their programs through the Board of Trustee process, particularly the new Basic Needs program.

## **Approval of the Minutes:**

• February 24, 2021

Minutes stand as approved.

## **State of the University:**

**Provost Patrick Phillips** 

- 1B group vaccination will start by May 1. Vaccines should be available for everyone by April (per Federal Government announcement), so we might not have to wait until May. We will provide more details as they become available.
- Vaccines may be available to all students before the end of Spring term as production has increased. Details to follow.
- Would like to encourage all members of the Senate to participate in the Trauma Informed Leadership workshop series. We want to acknowledge the work of Charlotte Moats-Gallagher in this space, who has done some tremendous scholarship and is a central figure in guiding our efforts.
- UO Administration is waiting for further information from public health authorities to determine how/when we will begin to return to in-person instruction. We hope to receive a set of planning guidelines from the state health authorities in April, particularly as the Fall schedule goes live in May.

## **New Business:**

US20/21-09: Approval of Curriculum Report, Winter 2021; Frances White, Chair of UOCC



Motion M/C – motion approved. 35 yes, 0 no, 0 abstentions.

- Faculty Trustee candidate remarks
  - T. Bettina Cornwell Professor, Marketing
  - o Ed Madison Associate Professor, Journalism & Communication
  - o Kiersten Muenchinger Associate Professor, Product Design
  - Carol Paty Associate Professor, Department of Earth Sciences and Clark Honors College
  - o Barbara Mossberg Professor of Practice in Literature and Clark Honors College

Will be followed by a short straw poll via Qualtrics which will inform the endorsement letter that will be sent to the Oregon Governor, who is ultimately responsible for making the final decision on the next faculty trustee.

### **Open Discussion:**

Abolitionist Teaching & Freedom Dreaming exercise

Majority of time spent in breakout sessions to discuss takeaways from B. Love reading and how its concepts could be harnessed and might ultimately impact education and campus environment at the University of Oregon. Additional events and exercises will take place during Spring term to continue these conversations around how we move forward as an institution.

#### Reports: None

## **Notice of Motion:**

- Human Subjects policy proposal
- Proprietary Research policy proposal
- Academic Council policies related to courses
- New Unit Proposal School of Global Studies and Languages

#### **Other Business:**

Adjournment: 5:03 P.M.

#### **Attendance:**

**Present**: Betina Lynn, Sandy Weintraub, Tina Ching, Irisa Mehta, Bill Harbaugh, Stephanie Prentiss, N. Chris Phillips, Jenna Travers, Randy Sullivan, Melissa Brunkan, Allen Malony, Frances White, Jay Butler, Robin Clement, Edward Davis, Kristy Bryant-Berg, Becky Girvan, Don Daniels, Beth Harn, Ella Meloy, Stephanie Majewski, Jen Reynolds, Samantha Hopkins, Matthew Norton, Leslie McLees, Suzie Stadelman, Tom Greenbow, Jay Silveira, Alejandro Vallega, Michelle Wood, Spike Gildea, Kelly Sutherland, Renee Irvin, Suzie Stadelman, Aaron Gullickson, Anthony Hornof, Colin Koopman, Craig

# UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

Kauffman, Gabriele Hayden, Nico Larco, Zhuo Jing-Schmidt, Annika Mayne, Autumn Shafer, Jessica Cronce, Gina Biancarosa.

#### Excused:

**Absent**: Hans Dreyer, Dan Tichenor, Ben Mier-Cruz, Sylvan Lionni, Gerard Sandoval, Josh Skov, Raul Patel, Theo Ko Thompson, Josh Razink.

**Guests:** Angela Wilhelms, Joanna Mann, T. Bettina Cornwell, Ron Bramhall, Janet Woodruff-Borden, Mike Schill, Tim Inman, Patrick Phillips, Jesse Summers, Charlotte Moats-Gallagher, Kiersten Muenchinger, Madison Sanders, Carol Paty, Chris Sinclair, Ed Madison, Sarah Strickler.