To: Robert Kyr President, UO Senate From: Kim Sheehan Chair, Faculty Advisory Council, AY 2011-2012 Re: FAC End of Year Report Date: May 2012 The Faculty Advisory Council met every Monday when classes were in session during the academic year from 11 am to 1 pm (except for two Mondays in May); it also met three times during the summer. As is the custom, incoming, continuing, and outgoing members attended the summer meeting.

Elected¹ members for the AY 2011-2012 are listed below.

Louise Bishop, Clark Honors College Jenifer Craig, Music and Dance William Harbaugh, Economics Chuck Kalnbach, Business Edward Kame'enui, Education Anne Laskaya, English Kim Sheehan, Journalism and Communication Carol Silverman, Anthropology Edward Teague, Library Andrew Verner, Business

The President of the University, the Provost, the Senior Vice Provost and the president of the UO Senate attended in an ex-officio capacity. During this year, the committee included two different Presidents (President Lariviere and Interim President Berdahl) and two Provosts (Provost Bean and Interim Provost Davis). In addition to Dr. Tomlin, who attended throughout the year, Dr. Blandy joined us during spring term during the transition in that office.

At the start of the year, members reconfirmed the following confidentiality policy developed during the previous year. This confidentiality policy reads:

"The Faculty Advisory Council is responsible for providing the President and other Administration officials with faculty opinion and counsel on the wide range of university affairs. In its relations with the President, the Administration, and with the faculty, the Faculty Advisory Council shall act either on request or on its own initiative. To fulfill its mission, members of the committee recognize that its deliberations must remain confidential. The quality and the effectiveness of the advice we give depend on a free and frank discussion of issues, in which all

¹ One elected member (NathanTublitz) resigned after he was elected: Anne Laskaya filled his seat since she had the next highest number of votes. Ed Kame'enui filled the seat for a faculty member from either the School of Education or the School of Law after recommendation from his Dean.

participants can voice their opinions about advantages and drawbacks without fear that their positions will be divulged or attributed to them.

Furthermore, the FAC often treats issues that are in the public domain. Any information presented at a FAC meeting that is not in the public record will remain confidential. All discussion about information that is in the public record will also remain confidential. Participants in the FAC will not use what they hear in committee meetings in discharging their obligations as faculty, administrators, or staff.

By pledging to adhere to the confidentiality of its proceedings, the participants in the FAC commit to fulfilling their charge by the Senate. The committee shall be the forum where the President and other Administration officials seek faculty advice on all important decisions that affect the university before they are implemented, and where the issues that inform these decisions will be considered thoroughly and with respect."

This year was a challenging year for the FAC given the sudden and unexpected change in leadership at the end of Fall term. As a result, the FAC veered from our traditional confidentiality policy and made two public statements in light of the firing of President Lariviere. First, we wrote and published an op-ed piece regarding the importance of Independent Institutional Review Boards immediately after Dr. Lariviere's firing. We also issued a statement to the Chancellor indicating our preferences for the Interim President position.

We also expressed, in writing, our concerns with the June report of the Inter-Institutional Faculty Senate, which in our view mischaracterized the state of education at the University of Oregon and did not support Independent Institutional Governing Boards. These concerns were sent to our IFS senators, and subsequently forwarded to the Chair of the IFS. We also requested that the University Senate respond to the report in writing. We look forward to seeing this response early in the summer.

During our meetings this year, the FAC continued conversations began in AY 2010-11 with key top administrators including Roger Thompson, VP for Enrollment Management, Brad Shelton, and Mike Andreasen, VP for Development. We also met twice with Kimberly Espy, Vice President for Research and Innovation and Dean of the Graduate School. These individuals updated us on the activities of their units and solicited our input on moving forward.

Other major topics discussed this year included: -University expansion at Walnut Station -Convocation and faculty participation -Interim Provost selection -Candidate for VP of Finance position -NTTF classification and status -Status of the academic plan -Fallout from faculty raises of May, 2011
-Academic extension
-The SVP search
-Unionization
-Shared governance
-VP of Information/CIO search
-Graduate program and its relationship to the budget model
-Improved communication between Johnson Hall and faculty
-The need for increased fiscal transparency
-Changes in the Center for Intercultural Dialogue

At the end of Spring term, the terms of Harbaugh, Sheehan and Verner ended. Replacing them on the FAC will be Peter Keyes (AAA), Anita Weiss (International Studies) and Linda Leon (OA). Continuing members Anne Laskaya and Louise Bishop were elected as FAC co-chairs for 2012-13. The new co-chairs plan for more pro-active discussions of faculty concerns during the upcoming academic year.