Tag Archives: Deadline

2017 Faculty Research Award applications due Nov. 28

Sent on behalf of Lynn Stearney, Director, Research Development Services, Office of the Vice President for Research & Innovation

Please distribute this announcement to your faculty.

The Vice President for Research & Innovation invites faculty from all academic disciplines to apply for 2017 Faculty Research Awards.

The purpose of the Faculty Research Awards program is to stimulate research by providing faculty with support for research expenses including travel, summer stipend, equipment, supplies, contractual services, shared facility use, and graduate or undergraduate student research assistance.

Faculty Research Awards are eligible for funding up to $5,500. 

    The deadline for receipt of 2017 Faculty Research Award proposals is 5:00 PM, November 28, 2016.

Awardees will be notified in late February or early March, 2017.  Projects should begin by July 1, 2017, and be completed by June 30, 2018.  Final reports are due by July 31, 2018. 

Guidelines and the application form are available online on the Research Development Services website.   

The Faculty Research Awards Committee, composed of faculty designated by the University Senate, will evaluate proposals on the basis of their intellectual or artistic merit and make recommendations to the Vice President for Research & Innovation. 

An information session on the Faculty Research Awards will be held on Monday, October 31 2016, from 12:00 – 1:00 in the Mt. Hood Room of Peace Health North, 677 East 12th Avenue.   This session will provide an opportunity for prospective applicants to ask questions about eligibility, proposal requirements, award conditions or any other aspects of the Faculty Research Award program. 

Questions should be directed to Research Development Services, rds@uoregon.edu.


The University of Oregon has a wealth of exemplary individuals who contribute to the success of our university. The Senate recognizes a few of them each year for their leadership and service through four major Senate Awards. These awards allow the Senate to highlight our shared values and those characteristics that enhance the experience of students, staff, and faculty.

2017 Award Recipients (L-R): Kurt Willcox (Classified Staff); Lisa Raleigh (Officers of
Administration); Diane Dietz (Shared Governance), and Jennifer J. Freyd (Westling).

Senate President Bill Harbaugh (R) presenting Paul Simonds, Senate Parliamentarian
and former Senate president, with a special award in recognition of his long service to
the Senate and Faculty Assembly.

Retiring Provost Scott Coltrane received a special award in recognition of his service to the university.

Senate Awards:

For 2017-18, award nominations will open on April 2 and close on April 24. All members of the campus community are able to nominate any eligible faculty member, classified staff person, or officer of administration for these awards. These awards along with two special recognition awards will be presented at a formal ceremony at the June 6 Senate meeting.

Nominations must be sent to: senatecoordinator@uoregon.edu.

UO Senate Award for Shared Governance, Transparency, and Trust

Purpose: Award is given to the person who has best exemplified the principles of shared governance, transparency, and trust during the past year. Established in 2015.
Eligible: Any administrator or other member of the UO community.
Selection: Recommended by Senate Executive Committee; selected by members of the University Senate.

Wayne T. Westling Award

Purpose: Named in honor of Wayne T. Westling, Professor of Law at the University of Oregon from 1979-2001. He was recognized across campus for his unswerving and selfless commitment to faculty governance. Award is given for outstanding and long-term leadership and service to the university. Established in 2001.
Eligible: Any faculty or staff member.
Selection: Recommended by the Committee on Committees; selected by members of the University Senate.

UO Senate Classified Staff Leadership Award

Purpose: Recognize an individual who is a leader in one or more of these areas – personal and professional development, a respectful work environment, or diversity. Must be a “change agent” who has made “a difference through their actions and through collaborative relationships.” Established in 2011.
Eligible: All classified employees.
Selection: By the current and previous classified staff senators employed at the university.

UO Senate Leadership and Service Award for Officers of Administration

Purpose: Recognize exemplary service over a period of years and outstanding leadership. Must be committed to shared governance and participatory decision making and must foster inclusiveness, respect, and professional excellence. Established 2011.
Eligible: All Officers of Administration
Selection: By the current Officers of Administration senators.

Related Awards: Senate committees also nominate and/or select candidates for several other university awards. These include:

Distinguished Service Awards

This award recognizes those “who by their knowledge and skills have made a significant contribution to the cultural development of Oregon or society as a whole.” Up to three awards may be presented each year at June Commencement.

Distinguished Teaching Awards

The Thomas F. Herman Award and the Herman Award for Specialized Pedagogy are presented to faculty members who have demonstrated long-term excellence in teaching at the university. The Ersted Award and the Ersted Award for Specialized Pedagogy recognize excellence in teaching by faculty who are early in their careers.